Holt County Board Members

Board Members County: 
Bruce Biermann
Elected Area: 
Areas Served: 
Bigelow, Minton, and Benton townships
Years Served: 
Term Expires 2026
B.J. Bailey
Elected Area: 
Areas Served: 
Forest, Lewis, and Forbes townships
Years Served: 
Term Expires 2024
Bob Heck
Elected Area: 
Areas Served: 
Lincoln, Union, and Liberty townships
Years Served: 
Term Expires 2024
Secretary (University of Missouri Extension)
Wayne Flanary
Vice Chairman
Brad Kurtz
Elected Area: 
Areas Served: 
Clay, Hickory and Nodaway townships
Years Served: 
Term expires 2026
Additional Information: 

The meetings are open to the public.

Date and Time: 
Second Wednesday of each month at 8:30 a.m. (unless otherwise announced).
Board Election Information: 

The Holt County Soil and Water Conservation District will hold an election for one supervisor in  Area I and III in  2024.  Area I includes Lincoln, Liberty and Union Townships and Area III includes Forest, Forbes and Lewis Townships.


The Nomination Period will be from November 1 - 30, 2023.

The qualifications to be a supervisor are:

The land representatives elect four (4) soil and water conservation district (SWCD) supervisors from the district. Each elected member represents one of four areas, as established at the time of the district’s organization or by official action of the Soil and Water Districts Commission. Supervisors serve a four-year term and are elected by a majority vote of the county’s land representatives under rules and policies formulated by the Soil and Water Districts Commission. It is the responsibility of the SWCD board to hold these elections as terms expire.  The SWCD Board of Supervisors is responsible for conducting the election under the rules and procedures developed by the Commission. The SWCD board shall conduct an election according to the schedule approved by the commission, detailed below. The qualifications required to be a supervisor are: 1. Being a land representative from the district. A land representative is defined as the owner or representative authorized by power of attorney of any farm lying within an area proposed to be established, and subsequently established, as a soil and water conservation district under Chapter 278, RSMo. Each farm is entitled to representation by a land representative: provided, however that the land representative is a taxpayer of the county within which the soil and water district is located, 10 CSR 70-4.010(1)(I) 2. Residing in, or owning a farm in, the area from which he/she is nominated where there is an expiring term.  3.  Being a cooperator of the district, defined as, "a person who is actively engaged in farming and practices conservation activities related to agriculture”. 4. Being a current resident and tax-paying citizen of the county for at least two years preceding the election date. Section 278.110, RSMo. 5.  Be eighteen (18) years of age or older by the election date and be willing to serve the full term they are elected for. 6.  Provide a valid mailing address to the program office and notify the program of any change of address during their term. 

Supervisors manage the administration of district policies and programs, as well as district personnel and funds. The district is supported by the one-tenth-of-one-percent parks, soils and water sales tax. For additional information on the district election, contact the district office: 660-442-3134, Ext. 3, tracy.shewey@swcd.mo.gov or Holt County SWCD, 118 W. Davis St., Mound City, MO  64470.

The form to fill out for to be considered to be Nominated for a supervisor position is provided in the Forms section.  A form may also be picked up at the Holt County SWCD office.