Cooperator Spotlight

Congratulations Pembroke Hill

Pembroke Hill - Mulan Jiang, Emily Dickey, Pallavi Jonnalagadda, Maya Chan and Coleman Gliddon. Pembroke Hill continues their winning steak! But this year a whole new team did the honors. The new team consisted of all freshman: Mulan Jiang, Emily Dickey, Pallavi Jonnalagadda,Maya Chan and Coleman Gliddon.

On April 5, 2016 the KC Region Envirothon held it's Regional competition at Burr Oak Woods. The problem-solving, natural resource education program for high school students consist of five member teams, which work in the field as they answer written questions and conduct hands-on investigation of environmental issues in five categories---Soils/Land Use, Aquatic Ecology, Forestry, Wildlife, and Current Environmental Issues. In addition to a written test the teams also present an oral presentaion solving a specific natural resource issue to a panel of three judges.

At the Regional Competition, Pembroke Hill took first place, Smithville High School took second place and Lafayette County, Higginsville took third place. The top three placements were then award a spot in the 2016 State Envirothon, which was held April 28, in Jefferson City, at Lincoln University Carver Farm. Eighteen teams from around the state competed at this event with the same five outdoor testing stations as in the Regional competition. The 2016 current conservation topic was "Invasive Species".

Once again, the Pembroke Hill High School placed 1st in the state event. 2016 was the 8th year Pembroke Hill High School has won 1st place in the Missouri State Envirothon. This was an extaordinary year for Pembroke considering this year's team was a brand new team, with all five members being freshman, never having competed in this event before.

July 24 - July 29 Pembroke Hill will be representing Missouri at the National Conservation Federation Envirothon at Trent Universtiy in Ontario, Canada. The NCF-Envirothon is North America's largest high school natural resource competition with more than 50 states and seven Canadian provinces competing at the national level.