Board & Election Information

Board Members

  • Chair
    Larry Kemble
    Elected Area: 
    Areas Served: 
    Stokes Mound, Hurricane, Van Horn, Ridge, and Rockford townships
    Years Served: 
    Elected in 1999
  • Vice Chair
    Roy Ritchhart
    Elected Area: 
    Areas Served: 
    Prairie, Trotter, Egypt, Moss Creek, Cherry Valley, and Sugar Tree townships
    Years Served: 
    Elected in 2005
  • Secretary (University of Missouri Extension)
    Kathi Mecham
  • Treasurer
    Bill Brunscher
    Elected Area: 
    Areas Served: 
    Washington, Hill, Fairfield, and Leslie townships
    Years Served: 
    Elected in 1997
  • Member
    Dennis Hensiek
    Elected Area: 
    Areas Served: 
    Carrollton, Combs, DeWitt, Wakenda, and Eugene townships
    Years Served: 
    Elected in 2007

Board of Supervisors Meetings

Meeting Place:
Conference Room at the USDA building
Meeting Date and Time:
First Monday of each month.

Place, date and time are subject to change due to holidays or other events. All meetings are open to the public with the exception of executive sessions. If you wish to be on the agenda, please notify the district office prior to the meeting.

Election Information

Next Election: TBA (Date and Area)

Big Creek - Hurricane Creek Watershed District Board Of Trustees

  • Mike Burger, Chairman - Elected in 2001
  • Clint Burnside, Vice-Chairman - Elected in 2015
  • Dwight Harper, Secretary - Elected in 2015
  • Heath Owen, Treasurer - Elected in 2013
  • Joe Brockmeier, Trustee - Elected in 1993

Elections are held every two years.

The qualifications required to be a supervisor are:

  1. Being a land representative from the district (as defined in 10 CSR 70-4.010 (1) (I)). A land representative is defined as the owner or representative authorized by power of attorney of any farm lying within an area proposed to be established, and subsequently established, as a soil and water conservation district under Chapter 278, RSMo. Each farm is entitled to representation by a land representative: provided, however that the land representative is a taxpayer of the county within which the soil and water district is located.

  2. Residing in, or owning a farm in, the area from which he/she is nominated where there is an expiring term.

  3. Being a cooperator of the district, defined as, "a person who is actively engaged in farming and practices conservation activities related to agriculture".

  4. Being a current resident and tax-paying citizen of the county for at least two years preceding the election date.

  5. Being eighteen (18) years of age or older by the election date.